Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Big Ten Champions!

What a great win for the guys as they win their 4th straight title. Too many clutch performances to mention, but just an overall great team showing.

As we get some competition video off the camera I'll be sure to post it. Also here is a link to Becky Miller's photo site where I'm sure she's be posting some great pictures in the coming days. Thanks Becky.



Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Big Tens are here... some updates before we go!

We split up the group 2 weeks back and got things tuned up before Big Tens. Most guys took this past weekend off, with many redshirts heading over to Hamline.

At Stanford distance guys got things rolling. Chris Rombough hit a nice PR in the 5k with his 13:48.80. Mike Torchia just missed going under 14-min for the first time with his 14:02.0. Senior Matt Barrett also hit a PR with his 14:17.73. Ben Blankenship led the way in the middle distances with his PR of 3:41.96. Harun Abda, Travis Burkstrand and Joe McFarland all hit PR's in the 800m.

Down in Iowa City at the Musco Twilight Meet (which has aired, and will air again on the Big Ten Network) we had some great performances as well. In the throws, Micah Hegerle and Paul Hoplin both had breakout performances. Hegerle hit a 10' PR in the hammer moving him into second on the all-time list with his 211' throw. Hoplin hit a 10' PR, and a 30' season best, also moving him into second on the all-time list.

On the track, Oladipo Fagbemi dropped a bomb in his 200m, running 21.44. Sean King had a nice night running a 10.57 in the 100m. Luke Silovich ran a season best (not sure on PR) of 14.56 in the 110mH.

I also failed to get up recognition for RJ McGinnis and Micah Hegerle. Both earned Big Ten Athlete of the week honors. RJ for his win at Drake in the decathlon... Micah for his PR and win at Iowa.

Here is some video from the Iowa throws... I didn't get the track ones downloaded before the Hamline ones replaced them!

We're heading to Big Ten's this weekend to defend the outdoor title from last year. The championship is being hosted at Indiana. HERE is the host site to follow results as they become available. Wish us luck!